“The Plymouth Years” of vehicle assembly (1949 to 1959)

The first 10 years of assembly operations could be described as “The Plymouth Years”.

Plymouth

“The Plymouth Years” of vehicle assembly (1949 to 1959)

The first 10 years of assembly operations could be described as “The Plymouth Years”. Already in 1949, the first year of assembly, 66 Plymouth vehicles rolled off the assembly line in Schinznach-Bad. By 1959, 7177 different models and generations of Plymouth vehicles had been built. From the “P21” (Cranbrook) to the Fury to the Belvedere, Switzerland produced these land yachts. The 42 Chryslers produced in 1951, the 252 DeSotos assembled between 1954 and 1956 and the Dodges assembled between 1955 and 1959 played a relatively small role. However, these figures need to be taken with a pinch of salt, as current research has shown that the Chrysler Windsor was also built in 1957, which until now has not appeared in any statistics.
 

At the beginning of the 1960s, production of large Plymouth land yachts came to a halt as demand shifted to smaller vehicles (e.g. A-bodies). In 1967, the assembly of Plymouth vehicles resumed, and a total of 216 Plymouth Barracudas were assembled. In 1969, the last Barracuda assembled in Switzerland rolled off the assembly line.
 

“The American automobile business has entered a new era. The cars have become longer, wider and more expensive, and customers first need to get used to them ... These attractive and fast cars don’t sell themselves automatically. The tendency of today’s prospective customers to sacrifice the comfort they desire to buy a vehicle that is smaller than the large current American models needs to be overcome.” (It might be attributable to Hans Stanek.)

Plymouth

More topics

Die Plymouth Jahre in der Automontage (1949 bis 1959)

Die ersten zehn Montage-Jahre können als «die Plymouth-Jahre» bezeichnet werden.

Plymouth

Die Plymouth Jahre in der Automontage (1949 bis 1959)

Die ersten zehn Montage-Jahre können als «die Plymouth-Jahre» bezeichnet werden. Bereits im ersten Montage-Jahr 1949 rollten 66 Plymouth in Schinznach-Bad vom Band. Bis 1959 wurden 7’177 Plymouth in verschiedenen Modellvarianten und -generationen gebaut. Vom "P21" (Cranbrook), über Fury bis hin zum Belvedere, entstanden Strassenkreuzer in der Schweiz. Im Vergleich dazu nehmen die im Jahr 1951 produzierten 42 Chrysler sowie die von 1954 bis 1956 montierten 252 DeSotos und die von 1955 bis 1959 montierten Dodges eine kleine Rolle ein. Wobei diese Zahlen mit Vorsicht zu geniessen sind, so haben aktuelle Recherchen ergeben, dass z.B. 1957 auch Chrysler Windsor  gebaut wurden, die bisher in keiner Statistik auftauchten.

Anfang der 60er Jahre fror die Produktion von grossen Plymouth Strassenkreuzer ein, kleinere Fahrzeuge (A-Bodies) waren gefragt. Erst ab 1967 wurde die Montage von Plymouth wieder aufgenommen, insgesamt 216 Plymouth Baracudas wurden montiert. 1969 rollte der letzte in der Schweiz hergestellte Baracuda vom Band.

 

«Das Amerikanerwagengeschäft ist in ein ganz neues Stadium getreten. Die Wagen sind länger, breiter und teurer geworden und daran muss sich die Kundschaft zuerst gewöhnen… diese schönen und schnellen Wagen verkaufen sich nicht von selbst. Die Tendenz der heutigen Kaufinteressenten, auf Kosten des eigentlich ersehnten Komforts einen kleineren Wagen als den heutigen grossen Amerikaner anzuschaffen, muss überwunden werden.» (Könnte Hans Stanek gewesen sein)

Plymouth

Weitere Inhalte